Pigeon Phobia

Well, the whole of my world knows by now that I am absolutely, completely, ridiculously petrified of pigeons! Yes, you heard it right. These seemingly senile creatures just suck the air out of me, leaving me totally incapacitated in public. Today, as I walked out after picking my daughter from school along with a group of kids and moms, one of my nemesis came right before me on the same ground I was about to step. I shut my eyes and ears to its fluttering, and stood fixated at that very spot. With my eyes closed and my mind too, I was trying find an escape route. Obviously I could see one as all my visionary senses were closed shut!

Just then a touching gesture happened. One of my friends helped me walk the other side of the road, and assured me she would shoo the bird away if it came anywhere near me. Whats great about that? May people who accompany me have said that to me— but that is after taking a good laugh at my sorry state and finding it amusing. Later, as an afterthought, they have tried driving away the despicable bird, wondering what could be possibly wrong with me to be afraid of a pigeon!!

A pigeon—so what? Isnt it bigger than a cockraoch or a lizard or a bee or a snake?  If those fears are valid, why not this? Harmless? Try thinking droppings and feathers that are capable of disposing you off to asthama, and you’ll know how harmful they can be. Peace-mongers? Really, where is the silence with their constant cooing and romanticising any creature, hopefully of the opposite sex? I have my own reasons, and I feel they are perfectly valid. I am left an invalid in the face of this fear. In 35 years I have somehow managed to find a way around my fear. Yet I dont know how long the alternatives will last, and may be one day I will be left exposed to face the fear of my life, all by myself! I will wait for that day to come, and see how to tackle it then.

Until then, I am ready to live my my shortcomings and accept them as a part of my persona. May all the pigeons in the world perish! And may I emerge the winner!!

Leave a comment